Skip to main content

Home - CES


The College of Education Studies is the foundation of the University of Cape Coast.  When the then University College was established on 1st October, 1962, it was entrusted with the task of training graduate teachers in Arts and Science for the secondary schools, teacher training colleges, etc. Consequently, in 1964, it was re-named the “University College of Science Education” and Education which had previously formed part of the Arts, was established as a separate Faculty in view of the crucial role it was to assume within the re-organised degree structure. Thereafter, Education became a compulsory component of the three subject teaching courses leading to B.A. and B.Sc. (General) Education degrees offered by the University College. The structure continued through 1971 when the institution became a full-fledged University by an Act of Parliament until 1998 when only students belonging to the Faculty of Education were required to study education courses.

The need to run the University on Collegiate basis emerged in line with Key Thrust 10 of the University’s Strategic Plan-2012-2017 (i.e Improve upon Management Capacity and Institutional Governance System). Consequently, the University adopted the collegiate system in August, 2014 which led to the upgrade of the then Faculty of Education became a two-tier College known as College of Education Studies (CES). 



Prof. Ernest Kofi Davis

21 Feb 23

The University of Cape Coast will host the second edition of the International Conference on Education Research for Development in Africa (ICEDA) from September 2023.

ICERDA seeks to create a unique space for new and established education researchers to meet regularly to disseminate research that addresses and develops research that inspires policymakers to improve the quality of education for all Africans, especially the disadvantaged and marginalised.

14 Sep 22

The College of Education Studies, University of Cape Coast has launched the adoption of schools project as part of its corporate social responsibility.

The adoption project is aimed at promoting continuous learning by supporting adopted schools with the needed professional and financial resources to help them improve academic performances.

A total of 17 schools comprising 14 basic schools and 3 senior high schools mainly from the Cape Coast Metropolis have been identified and adopted in the initial phase of the project.