College of Education Studies Building

The College of Education Studies is the foundation of the University of Cape Coast.  When the then University College was established in 1st October, 1962, it was entrusted with the task of training graduates’ teachers in Arts and Science for the secondary schools, teacher training colleges, etc. Consequently, in 1964, it was re-named the “University College of Science Education” and Education which had previously formed part of the Arts, was established as a separate Faculty in view of the crucial role it was to assume within the re-organised degree structure. Thereafter, education became a compulsory component of the three subject teaching courses leading to B.A. & B.Sc. (General) Education degrees offered by the University College. The structure continued through 1971 when the institution became a full-fledged University by an Act of Parliament until 1998 when only students belonging to the Faculty of Education were required to study education courses.

The need to run the University on Collegiate basis emerged in line with key thrust 10 of the University’s Strategic Plan-2012-2017 (i.e Improve upon Management Capacity and Institutional Governance System). Consequently, the University went on collegiate in August, 2014 and the then Faculty of Education became a two-tier College called College of Education Studies. 

However, as it operated in the two-tier system, it was noted that the departments that comprised it were too large, with disconnected activities and mandates which hampered smooth administration and management. There was therefore the need for further re-structuring into a three-tier system that allowed large departments (example) to be broken down into smaller departments/centres/units. A proposal for restructuring into a three-tier system was sent to the Academic Board and approval was granted the College to run the system in August, 2016. In the three-tier system, the departments/centre/units which performed similar functions and run programmes where were related were re-organised into three Faculties and one School. The main aim was to improve management, sharing of expertise, efficient use of resources and effective running of academic programmes.